Book Review: The Patmos Deception

Book Review: The Patmos Deception

The Patmos Deception by Davis BunnThe Patmos Deception by Davis Bunn was an action-packed adventure tale, involving history, faith and a young woman I found quite relatable.

When Nick is hired to discover how valuable state icons are going missing, he enlists the help of long-time friend Carey Mathers. As they follow the clues, they begin to realize that this is about something much bigger than either of them ever realized. And when they befriend Dimitri, a local boater, they begin to explore how deep the conspiracy goes.

The thing I most appreciated about this book is that Carey is a little like me, an inquisitive learner with a desire for adventure, but generally just an ordinary girl. We’re both nerds in our own right. I loved that this book revolved around someone who was not necessarily extraordinary and possessed few unusual attributes. Instead, Carey is an academic with a love of history and a desire to prove herself outside of her home state.

As with many of his books, Dunn has quite the collection of unique characters. Fortunately, this novel didn’t seem as complicated as some, so it was easier for me to keep up with the plot and characters even as I read half asleep at night. I especially loved some of the supporting characters, like Eleni, whose family I would love to befriend myself. (Somewhere in my heart, I hope I run into this clan if I ever travel to Greece.)

Taking place in Greece, the book does a good job of weaving culture, place and history into action and adventure. While I hope to someday visit Greece, I feel I know now a little more about this place through the eyes of Carey, Nick and Dimitri.

Overall, I thought Dunn’s latest adventure well worth the read and would recommend it to any who appreciate a little action and suspense! I hope a sequel will soon tell us what happens to these endearing characters.

I received a complimentary copy of The Patmos Deception from Bethany House Publishers, but I was not otherwise compensated for this review. All writing, thoughts, and opinions are solely mine.

My other Davis Bunn reviews: Rare Earth and Strait of Hormuz

Book Review: Strait of Hormuz

Book Review: Strait of Hormuz

Strait of Hormuz by Davis BunnHaving read Davis Bunn’s award-winning Rare Earth last year, I was excited at the chance to read the next novel in the series, Strait of Hormuz.

When rumors abound that North Korea is aiding Iran’s nuclear program, Marc Royce returns to the field as a freelancer, ousted from any official role in the State Department. His mission is deemed important by only one man, but Marc puts his life on the line on the off chance that the assumptions of the rest of the military and intelligence departments are wrong. Along the way, he teams up with Israeli Kitra (from Rare Earth) and a new team of mismatched Swiss, Persian and Israeli policemen and intelligence agents, a Turkish art dealer, and even a British millionaire.

In the end, Marc’s team is racing against time to stop those intending to terrorize Israel and start an international war.

I found the plot of Strait of Hormuz to be complex to the point of finding it difficult to follow at times (although I admit some of that could be the fact that I tend to read late at night). In Rare Earth, I found the plot intelligent and unexpected. On the other hand, Strait of Hormuz is slow to progress, complicated and far from gripping.

It wasn’t apparent to me how some of the supporting characters (even seemingly important ones) actually contributed to the plot. Kitra, has no training in intelligence or counter-terrorism, and the only purpose she seems to play is a contact for the Mossad. The author seemed to force her into the plot, unsuccessfully. The same could be said for the art dealer, Rhana. She had contacts in the black market, but was hardly an indispensable member of a team fighting terrorism, and she is more realistically a liability. She does, however, play the role of identifying their target.

This novel takes place in several unique and interesting locations (including Geneva and Gaza), but it lacked the vivid descriptions of Rare Earth. I did, however, enjoy the portrayal of various American, European, and Middle Eastern cultures all coming together to fight for a common goal. While lacking some description of setting, Bunn did present each character with a unique sense of culture. Characters are definitely his strong suit.

For fans of Marc Royce, Strait of Hormuz is a must read continuation of his story. But for those interested in a gripping suspense novel, it might be disappointing.

I received a complimentary copy of Strait of Hormuz from Bethany House Publishers, but I was not otherwise compensated for this review. All writing, thoughts, and opinions are solely mine.

Book Review: Rare Earth

Book Review: Rare Earth

Rare EarthRare Earth by Davis Bunn was, in a word, gripping. I have read just a handful of Bunn’s previous novels, but I would say that this is by far my favorite.

From the very start, our hero Marc Royce isn’t expected to survive–he’s been sent to the wilds of Africa amid drought, famine and a volcanic eruption to uncover crime and corruption. It is within a Kenyan refugee camp that Marc meets Kitra–a passionate medical worker with a few secrets of her own, and a missing brother. As Marc races against time to unravel the mysteries surrounding him, both his life and Kitra’s are in danger…

Rare Earth has a plot full of twists and turns and unexpected events that keep the reader guessing all the way to the end. Marc Royce is a strong hero, but not one without some faults and weaknesses as he faces seemingly insurmountable challenges. I was surprised by Kitra–she is an unexpected, fierce, independent heroine, one that I came to love. Perhaps someday we’ll get to know her better…

Bunn handles a large cast of characters with ease and grace, weaving essential supporting roles in and out of the story without confusion or chaos. Similarly, his plot is exceptionally intricate and fast-paced, yet easily followed by any reader.

I have (sadly) never been to Africa, but thanks to Bunn’s meticulous writing and the observant eyes of our hero, I felt as though I was there–seeing the barren landscape with my own eyes, feeling the gritty dust between my teeth and watching gray ash fall from the sky like snow.

And perhaps best of all, the books ends with a hint, a promise, a question…leaving the reader satisfied, but yearning for more. I highly recommend this book as a thrilling read for anyone in search of a little adventure. But before you pick it up, keep in mind that it’s hard to put down!

I received a complimentary copy of Rare Earth from Bethany House Publishers, but I was not otherwise compensated for this review. All writing, thoughts, and opinions are solely mine.